Back to Top

Stefanie Schwimmbeck is dedicating herself to dance as a form of art and education.

Born in Munich, she studied contemporary dance at the University of Music and Dance (CCD) in Cologne. During her studies she danced in pieces directed by Didier Theron, Ivan Perez, Ted Stoffer, Regina van Berkel, Stephan Dreher and Kazue Ikeda and assisted at Helena Waldmann’s happy piece for her bachelor thesis.

Since 2012 she has been working as a freelance contemporary dancer and dance teacher.

Stefanie danced for Britta Lieberknecht & Company, Projek Zukumpf, Tanzkompanie bo complex, IP Tanz, Bianca Mendonca, SETanztheater, Maria Golding, Karel Karel, Max Bilitza and Willi Dorner and is continuously developing her own performances. Her solo performance Nr. 8 was part of the scholarship Frische Fische at Tanzzentrale Nürnberg and was staged in Cologne, Düsseldorf, Nuremberg and Berlin. Since 2017 she has been a member of Barnes Crossing in Cologne. In 2018 Stefanie received a scholarship from the Ministry of Culture and Science of North Rhine-Westphalia and completed a study visit to the Trisha Brown Dance Company in New York, to further train herself in the release technique.

She regularly teaches creative and modern dance for children, adolescents and adults as well as contemporary professional training and workshops in various institutions. Since 2017 she has been part of the freaky profi teachers association of the Ehrenfeldstudios in Cologne. She leads dance projects with refugee youth groups and choreographs the theatre company Projek Zukumpf and Projects & Projekteurs where amateur actors with and without physical disabilities participate. Furthermore, she has been assisting and choreographing for the youth dance productions Heinrich tanzt by Fokus Tanz / Tanz und Schule e.V. and CAMPUS bavarian state ballet in Munich and also for the education project of the Ruhr Klavier Festival in Essen from 2015 to 2017. In 2017, she completed the studies in Creating Dance in Art and Educations at the University of the Arts in Berlin and received the NEXT GENERATION scholarship for the 33rd Theatertreffen NRW of young audiences. Since the winter semester 2019/20 she has been a lecturer for music and movement/dance at the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz in Cologne and University Siegen.

Press

NR.8 – Stefanie Schwimmbeck

“… Her special stage presence is conspicuous, her long limbs form fine lines, which she opposes with slapstick-like humour in movement and a mischievous, sometimes childishly naive mimic … It’s great how her young dynamic blends into the existing structures of the city in a confident and professional way.”
Judith Ouwens – ACT.51/March 2014

„… Stefanie Schwimmbeck …. a charming actress, sometimes published, grins timidly and stumbles, sometimes she dances on it, phrases from remembered choreographies…”
Melanie Suchy – Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger/14. Februar 2014

Zurück nach oben

Stefanie Schwimmbeck widmet sich dem Tanz als Bühnenkunstform und als Lerninhalt.

Geboren in München, studierte sie zeitgenössischen Bühnentanz an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz (ZZT) in Köln. Während ihrer Studienzeit tanzte sie in Stücken von Didier Theron, Ivan Perez, Ted Stoffer, Regina van Berkel, Stephan Dreher und Kazue Ikeda und hospitierte anlässlich Ihrer Bachelorarbeit bei Helena Waldmanns GlückStück.

Seit 2012 arbeitet sie freischaffend als zeitgenössische Tänzerin und Tanzvermittlerin.

Sie tanzte u.a. bei Britta Lieberknecht & Company, Projek Zukumpf, Tanzkompanie bo komplex, IP Tanz, Bianca Mendonca, SETanztheater, Maria Golding, Karel Karel, Max Bilitza und Willi Dorner und entwickelt eigenen Performances. Ihre Solo-Performance Nr. 8 entstand im Rahmen des Nachwuchsstipendiums Frische Fische der Tanzzentrale Nürnberg und wurde in Köln, Düsseldorf, Nürnberg und Berlin gezeigt. Seit 2017 ist sie Teammitglied von Barnes Crossing-Netzwerk für TanzPerformanceKunst in Köln. 2018 erhielt sie ein Stipendium des Ministeriums für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und absolvierte einen Studienaufenthalt bei der Trisha Brown Dance Company in New York, um sich weiter in der Release Technik zu schulen.

Regelmäßig unterrichtet sie kreativen und modernen Tanz für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene sowie zeitgenössisches Profitraining und Workshops in verschiedenen Institutionen. Seit 2017 ist sie im Lehrerpool des freaky profi trainings der Ehrenfeldstudios in Köln. Sie leitet Tanzprojekte u.a. mit geflüchteten Jugendlichen und choreographierte für die Theatergruppen Projek Zukumpf und Projects & Projekteurs mit Laien-Schauspieler mit und ohne körperliche Beeinträchtigungen. Des Weiteren assistierte und choreographierte von 2015 bis 2017 für die Jugendtanzproduktionen Heinrich tanzt von Fokus Tanz/Tanz und Schule e.V. und CAMPUS bay. Staatsballett in München sowie 2015 für das Education-Projekt des Klavierfestivals Ruhr in Essen. 2017 schloss sie die Weiterbildung Creating Dance in Art and Educations an der Universität der Künste in Berlin ab und erhielt das Nachwuchsstipendium NEXT GENERATION für das 33.Theatertreffen NRW für junges Publikum. Seit dem Wintersemester 2019/20 ist sie Lehrbeauftragte für das Fach Musik und Bewegung/Tanz an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz in Köln.

Presse

NR.8 – Stefanie Schwimmbeck
„… Auffällig ist ihre besondere Bühnenpräsenz, ihre langen Gliedmaßen bilden feine Linien, denen sie slapstickartigen Humor in der Bewegung und eine schelmische, bisweilen kindliche-naiven Mimik entgegensetzt … Toll, wie sich ihre junge Dynamik souverän und professionell in die bestehende Strukturen der Stadt einfügt.“
Judith Ouwens – AKT.51/März 2014

„… Stefanie Schwimmbeck …. eine charmante Darstellerin, grinst mal verlegt zaghaft und stolpert, mal tanz sie drauflos, Phrasen aus erinnerten Choreografien…“
Melanie Suchy – Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger/14. Februar 2014